Day 161: Clothing

The “get-rid-of” piles in the house are getting too big and I need to start the actual ‘getting-rid-of’ phase to make room in the boxes for more eventual sorting. I’ve been going through both his and my things, in the hopes that it won’t hurt as bad when we’re both giving things away that we don’t need.

I filled a bag with clothes that he never wore, and clothes that didn’t fit me right… (Clearly we should have gotten rid of these things already.) I took my clothes to the women’s shelter, then went to the men’s… I took the bag inside with me, so I could do it in one attempt. …I couldn’t locate the office… Then located the office with some assistance from residents… Wimped out as soon as I saw it…. Went back to the vehicle and cried ….with the bag of clothes .

Mission failed.

There I was, with a bag of unworn clothes that I shouldn’t be so attached to, feeling bad giving them away, yet feeling even worse for not giving them to people who so desperately need assistance. Knowing we both would want the other to put our unneeded items towards a good cause, I also couldn’t leave with this bag still in the vehicle.

With a big thank you to technology, I located the phone number and said I was outside with a bag of clothes and was unable to come in. I criiiied handing that bag over, while muttering that I hoped the clothes would be helpful and that I would have more to bring sometime…. Whether or not he understood a word I was saying, he provided thanks and affirmed their usefulness.

Recommendations:
– Call from outside the shelter and ask someone to come outside to pick up the bags.
– Take Kleenex…. Take a whole box.
– Have something planned with a friend afterwards so you have some support (or take them with you while you deliver!)

Leave a Reply

