Day 110: Runaway Train

Yet another song with lyrics that now have another meaning or understanding….

While waiting for an appointment, Runaway Train by Soul Asylum played on the overhead speakers. Whenever I used to hear it, I would see the faces of the missing children from the music video… Now there’s an additional face… that of my husband. …Stolen away….

I am someone who typically runs away. …there is no running away from this. …not only can I not, but I would feel as though I were dishonouring him by doing so. ……Perhaps I finally understand what my counsellor meant by owning this grief, honouring it, and honouring my husband.

Leave a Reply

